amazingly dark, raw chocolate

The things we do for love!

I’ve ended up completely covered in chocolate, twice, in the span of two weeks. Both time were indirectly because of Mel. I swear, that boy doesn’t know what I go through for him.

The first time I ended up a mess was because I was trying to piece together Mel’s birthday cake. In the act of trying to get the chocolate exterior smooth, I kept wiping my pallet knife on a towel which I would then put down on my lap. When I eventually stood up to admire my work, I realized that my hands, arms, face (from rubbing it) and jeans were completely covered in the dark brown mess. Luckily, my jeans were about due for a wash any way so I wasn’t too fussed.

Today? Today is another story. Once again for Mel…. He loves raw chocolate. Actually, he has a stash of it in his ‘treasure‘ cupboard that he hordes & covets. I think he really is quite obsessed with the stuff. In the spirit of wanting to ‘do-right’ by my man & bring a smile to his face, I decided I would attempt to make him some of this magical chocolate. After all, I have all the ingredients for it. So, I took my lovely, organic, beautiful ingredients into work with me knowing that I would be much more zen in that nice big kitchen. All went well. All went very well actually. I even chose a nice little star-shaped ice-cub tray to use as my mold. Seemed rather fitting since I think Mel is a star. The way home was where disaster struck.

The chocolate had set & I had the mold on a tray which was sitting on the front, passenger seat of my car. Here’s a fun fact, did you know that untempered chocolate has a lower melting point than regular chocolate? Did you also know that raw chocolate has an even lower temperature than regular chocolate? I didn’t. Today also happened to be rather lovely outside, and by lovely, I mean that it was practically summer. So, I was driving along (as you do) and I noticed that the chocolate was slowly starting to melt. This wouldn’t have been so bad if the tray it was sitting on hadn’t have been at an angle, but it was. The chocolate was melting faster & faster, & I started to notice that it was starting to leak out of the edges of the mold. In a moment of genius, I moved the tray up onto the dashboard of my car where it would lie flat, and hence stop leaking in effect. Of course, this caused me momentary distraction and I had to stamp on the brakes a little harder than I would have liked…….. oh yes, chocolate went flying through the air landing all over myself, my face, my jeans, and more importantly, all over the interior of my already dirty car.

Crap.

And so I say to you again. The things I do in the name of love.

Yes, I have since washed. I’ve scrubbed the chocolate even deeper into the fabric of my car seats. I made another batch of chocolate, and mel would have been none the wiser to the whole ordeal had I not opened my big mouth.

The chocolate recipe was totally worth the whole big mess though. I think I may even try it again & add some chilies into it. Yum!

Ingredients:
– 100g cacao butter
– 15g coconut butter
– 60g raw cacao
– 50g dark agave syrup
– 0.25 tsp organic sea salt
– 0.25 tsp vanilla bean powder (this is just ground vanilla beans)

Directions:
1. finely chop the cacao butter & place it in a double boiler or in a heat proof bowl to put in the microwave & melt it slowly. Once the cocoa has melted, stir in the coconut butter until it has melted & blended with the cocoa butter.
2. sift in the cocoa powder & stir slowly until a nice smooth texture has been reached, then, slowly pour in the agave syrup ensuring to stir whilst doing so.
3. last, stir in the salt & vanilla powder & continue to stir for a few minutes to ensure that the salt has dissolved into the warm chocolate.
4. last but not least, pour your chocolate into your desired mold (I used a rubber ice-cube tray) & place it in the fridge for an hour to set & harden.

Tips:
*** if you would like the chocolate to remain solid at room temperature & have a nice sheen to it, think about tempering the mixture. Here is a lovely bit of literature by ‘Cooking for Engineers‘ that will talk you through how to temper & why it’s needed.

…for more recipes from us, check out our archives.

share your thoughts if you want

